Transmittals Module Configuration

Transmittal Configuration

This section configures options relating to how Transmittals behave on your project. 

You can do the following:

  1. Configure status options
  2. Configure who gets what status
  3. Configure advanced status options
  4. Set the default option to add a copy of every Transmittal in the document register (Unfiled folder). Note, this option can be turned on/off by editing a Transmittal.
  5. Determine how to file documents received on transmittals from a linked project.

Configure Status Options

Use this form to list the status options that can be specified for documents/drawings on Transmittals. Typical status options include "FA: For Approval" and "FC: For Construction".

 

To remove a Status Option

  1. Select the option from the list.
  2. Click Delete Option.
  3. To add a new option, enter the code in the first (smaller) box, and the description in the second (larger) box. Then click Add Option.

To add a new Status Option

  1. Enter the code in the first (smaller) box, and the description in the second (larger) box.
  2. Click Add Option.

In the next step you specify which people are allowed to use each status option.

Configure who gets what status

Use this form to specify which status options are available to which users. It is usual that each user will have only a subset of the status options.

For example, the subcontractors may usually only specify that a revision if at a ‘For Approval’ status (although the document itself may be stamped For Construction) since only the Contractor has the authority to approve the document for release to the rest of the project team. In this case, the Contractor will have additional status options that may be applied to the revision, such as ‘For Construction’, or ‘Resubmit’.

The text box beside each status can be used to type in additional rules for this status.  When viewing by Role, any Company specific details will be displayed in this box, and when viewing by Company, any Role based rules will be displayed in this box. Any rules relating to users, and rules disallowing by Company or Role, can only be entered in this box.

Roles are listed by their Role Code.  Users are represented by their specific User code.

When deciding if a particular individual may have use of a status, the following logic is applied:

  1. is the status allowed for this user's company's role
  2. is the status allowed for this user's company
  3. is the status allowed for this user
  4. is the status disallowed for this user's company's role
  5. is the status disallowed for this user's company
  6. is the status disallowed for this user

Note, any rule that disallows will override any rule that allows.

Rules that disallow by Role or Company are entered by preceding the item with a hyphen (minus sign). For example:

 

Configure Advanced Status Options

Percent Complete
The values can be used to automatically allocate a percent complete value to documents on the register. The reporting system will look up the highest status that has been achieved according to these percent complete values. It will then allocate to that drawing the percent complete value that corresponds.

Stamps
A stamp can be applied to documents on the system, when they are posted as graphic files (PDF, PLT, TIF). When someone issues a document with the selected status, the system will apply a stamp to the document. You can upload the bitmap (BMP) here. Also specify the justification, which is the corner of the bitmap to place, and the corner of the sheet to place it by. Also specify the offset, which is the distance between the corner of the sheet and the corner of the bitmap - always in positive values.

Auto Register

If this box is ticked: documents on transmittals will not automatically be entered into the Document Register. This applies to new documents.  If a document was previously stored on this transmittal (the document is a new revision), the document will be automatically stored in the original location. This option offers the document controller more control.  Each document received via transmittal, must be copied into the document register.  This is a good option if not every document on transmittals belongs in the document register.     If this box is not ticked: documents on transmittals will automatically be entered into the Document Register.  This is the option you tick, to save the document controller the process of receiving in each document on a transmittal. 

Auto Register for Linked Projects

When a transmittal is received from a linked project, the administrator can select two options.
  1. The transmittal must be copied to release the filed into this project: If this is selected, documents on transmittals will not automatically be entered into the Document Register. This applies to new documents.  If a document was previously stored on this transmittal (the document is a new revision), the document will be automatically stored in the original location. This option offers the document controller more control.  Each document received via transmittal, must be copied into the document register.  This is a good option if not every document on transmittals belongs in the document register.
    1. The person who the transmittal is addressed to will receive the transmittal on his notification list and have access to the documents.  
    2. The documents will not be accessible by anyone else until the receiver opens the document and splits (copies) the document to someone in the project (including him/herself).  After the documents have been split/copied the document will be filed in the document register and accessible. 
    3. The document will be filed in the folder path if it exists.  If it does not exist, the document will be filed in the Unfiled folder. 
  2. Automatically file the documents into the document register: If this box is selected, documents on transmittals will automatically be entered into the Document Register.  This is the option you tick, to save the document controller the process of receiving in each document on a transmittal. 
    1. The person who the transmittal is addressed to will receive the transmittal on his notification list and have access to the documents.  
    2. The documents will be accessible by everyone and filed automatically in the document register.
    If you choose to automatically file the documents, you must select where to file them.
    1. Put everything in Unfiled: If selected, all documents on transmittals will be filed in the Unfiled folder.
    2. File Using the same file paths as from the linked project. If selected, documents will automatically be filed in the same folder paths as the documents were stored within in the linked project.
      If the same folder path doesn't exist
    3. you must select:
      1. If the past is missing, create it. If selected, ProjectCentre will automatically build a matching folder path to the linked project and store the documents respectively.
      2. If the path is missing, go to unfiled.  If selected, the documents will be filed in the Unfiled folder.